I’m a Terrible Reader, Please Help Me

I seriously suck.

Here we are, basically halfway through November, and I have read one book. ONE BOOK. And get this: it wasn’t even a book on my November TBR. Get this, there’s not a single book on my TBR that looks appealing to me.

So, yeah, I hereby ban monthly TBR lists for me. I can’t do them. I picked out a bunch of books, and I’m not in the mood to read a single one. Yet I feel guilty picking up anything that’s not on my TBR, so now I haven’t read anything. What a vicious cycle this is.

As of today, this monthly TBR has been disbanded and I am free to read anything I want. What a freeing, liberating feeling! *looks at my mile-high forever TBR pile* *cries* *hides in shame* *plays Skyrim instead*

I am in the worst reading slump, guys, and I need help. I can’t afford to be in a slump, so what are some all-natural remedies for a book-hangover? I thought that reading Geekerella would do it, and I really enjoyed it, but I still look at my pile of books and cower in fear. I still pick up a book, read three pages, then turn on Netflix.

In an attempt to pull myself out of this, I’m going to read another mystery/thriller type book, which was what seemed to have put me in a slump to begin with. The last book I completed last month was Little Monsters by Kara Thomas, which I loved. It was everything I wanted in a mystery/thriller and checked all of my boxes and was just so satisfying. Maybe if I read another book like this, I will cure myself; so Genuine Fraud by E Lockhart should hopefully do the trick.

In all seriousness, what are some tips and tricks from my fellow booklovers for pulling yourself out of a reading slump? How do you do it?

8 thoughts on “I’m a Terrible Reader, Please Help Me

  1. I had to get through a long book in a week – so I set up a spreadsheet on Google Docs with page goals for every day. It really helped me get through on time so I think I’ll continue to work that way.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I personally try to read books that I have already read that are my favorites, look up quotes from books, or read small books to make myself feel good because I finished a book at least. You will come out of it and read all kinds of books trust me happens to the all of us.
    Plus, I nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award just wanted to let you know 😉
    stepintoabookworld.wordpress.com/2017/11/20/blogger-recognition-award/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment